Celebrating media personalities with prestige – A look at RTP 2018

By  | 

Aim for gold. Have a world class gold-plated solid britannium made statuette sit in your room, office to show your worth, courage and outstanding achievement in impacting lives through media practice. Ghana’s Radio and Television Awards has Africa’s most expensive statuettes- to show the priceless worth of media personalities in shaping, influencing and being guardians of society’s conscience.

October 2018, and invite you to my highlights of the 8th edition of RTP Awards, Ghana. It can only get better so ride along.

Celebrating selfless achievements in media must have impact on honorees. Career advancement, self-fulfillment, pride, motivation and self-worth shields a lot of significance for awards schemes.

RTP Awards is the first and foremost dared venture by any establishment to award media personalities- stakes are high and alive. Critics however, have applauded organizers for its persistence. First good score. For eight years, the Radio and Television Awards has ran uninterrupted. Accolades to Big Events Ghana Ltd, owners of the scheme.

The award particularly has suffered the toughest of media backlash by critics over the years, but clearly it holds a special place in the heart of media people. The 8th edition took place at the Accra International Conference Centre on Saturday, October 6, 2018.


“This year’s event was well produced by Nabil Alhassan of Event Factory Ltd, an agency with event services experience across the continent. The sound feed for the television broadcast was a master work and I’m happy with the entire production” – Fred Kyei Mensah, a senior entertainment analyst and sound expert.

Red carpet time is everything. Events in Ghana over the years have suffered undue delays because celebrities don’t come on the red carpet on time. It affects everything. It delays broadcast of the awards as well as resulting in unnecessary dragging of the whole event. The event also experienced minor technical drawbacks according to our backstage monitoring team, and this evidently contributed in the late start of the main show. In the face of these challenges, this year’s session produced the most exciting and dance-filled shows in the history of event nights in Ghana.

Two Hosts – male and female on the night. Shirley Tibilla and Ohene Mensah Boakye kicked off the calling of winners, successively after the first opening act. Very thoughtful. It made up for the minor delays in keeping schedule within reasonable duration. MCs, Shirley Tibilla, her first time and she was absolutely great. She was eloquent and fluid.


With a rather unusual casual wear, Lynx Entertainment act, KiDi stormed the stage dishing out a catalogue of songs including ‘Adiepena’, ‘Say You Love Me’ and ‘Thunder’.

His label mate, Kuami Eugene also had a good show. Tipped by many music enthusiasts to win Artiste of the Year, Kuami Eugene began his performance with ‘Adwenfi’ – a song by Vyruski which featured him and Shatta Wale. He climaxed his performance with ‘Never Carry Last’, another song by Vyruski which features Mayorkun. His dance moves, the manner in which he communicated with the audience complemented his act earning him some props from patrons.

Newest sensation, Wendy Shay did not disappoint as she proved her mettle on the night. Her stagecraft was exquisite. Starting her performance with ‘Bedroom Commando’, she was accompanied on stage by heavily built gentlemen to literally interpret the song while some sexy female dancers engaged in a captivating formation dance. After performing her controversial songs, Wendy Shay unveiled her latest single, ‘Psalm 35’.

Good old Okomfour Kwaadee did his best as he took patrons down memory lane.


Television personality, Stacy Amoateng emerged Overall RTP Personality of the Year. Stacy also won TV Female Presenter of the Year and TV Program of the Year with her Restoration with Stacy show which airs on Joy Prime and Angel TV.

“Winning Personality of the Year, TV Female Presenter of the Year, TV Program of the Year means a lot to me taking into consideration the great radio and TV personalities I was competing with. All I can say is that I am highly blessed,” she said. “The journey has not been easy but with determination and hard work this is where we are and I know there are greater things ahead of me. I always go for gold and the skies are my limit.”

See the list of winners below

RTP Personality Of The Year: Stacy Amoateng

Media Group Of The Year: Despite Media Group

TV Station Of The Year: United Television (UTV)

TV Entertainment Show Of The Year: The Late Afternoon Show By Berla Mundi

Radio Station Of The Year: Starr FM

TV Sports Program Of The Year: Home Run On Kwese TV

TV Program Of The Year: Restoration With Stacy

Digital TV Channel Of The Year: Angel TV

TV Morning Show Host Of The Year: Johnnie Hughes

TV Sports Show Host Of The Year: Countryman Songo

TV Development Show Host Of The Year: Nana Aba Anamoah

Radio Morning Show Of The Year: Super Morning Show – Joy FM

Radio Program Of The Year: Ghana Beyeyie On Vision1 FM

Radio Morning Show Host Of The Year: Daniel Dadzie Of Joy FM

Radio Sports Program Of The Year: Angel Sports – Angel FM

Radio Mid-Morning Show Host Of The Year: Nana Yaw Sarfo – Vision1 FM

Radio Gospel Show Of The Year: OB Nartey Of Vision1 FM

Radio Reggae Show Host Of The Year: Blakk Rasta Of Zylofon FM

Sports Show Host Of The Year: Benedict Owusu Of Joy FM

Radio Female Presenter Of The Year: Akumaa Mama Zimbi, Adom FM

Radio Late Afternoon Show Host Of The Year: Giovani Caleb -Starr FM

Best Radio Entertainment Talk Show Host Of The Year: Agyeman Prempeh Of Power FM

TV Female Newscaster Of The Year: Serwaa Amihere Of GHOne TV

TV Male Newscaster Of The Year: Alfred Ocansey, TV3

Radio News Program Of The Year: Starr News Today

TV Morning Show Of The Year: Adekye Nsroma- UTV

TV News Program Of The Year: News 360 -TV3

TV Female Entertainment Host Of The Year: Berla Mundi- GHONE

TV Entertainment Male Host Of The Year: Abeiku Santana, UTV

Radio DJ Of The Year: Dj Vyrusky

Radio Development Show Host Of The Year: Bright Asempa Of Onua FM

Radio Newscaster Of The Year (English Language): Atiewin Imbilla – Starr FM

Radio Newscaster Of The Year (Local Language): Bono Hene Boafo- Kasapa FM

Radio Newscaster Of The Year (Local Language): Bono Hene Boafo- Kasapa FM

Best Radio Personality For Ashanti Region: Bright Kankam Boadi

Best Radio Personality For Brong Ahafo Region: Alhassan Yahaya – Ark FM

Best Radio Personality For Volta Region: Frank Folley

Best Radio Personality For Western Region: Paa Kwesi Simpson – Connect FM

Best Radio Personality For Eastern Region: London Nie

Best Radio Personality For Central Region: Adu Gyamfi Marfo – Osagyefo FM

Best Radio Personality – Greater Accra Region Winston Amoah


Dr. Ofori Sarpong (Despite Group)

Mr. Francis Kwabena Poku

Nana Appiah Mensah (Zylofon Media)

Mr. Martin Kwaku Brobbey

[Written by: Kelly Nii Lartey Mensah. Author is a digital media strategist and celebrity reputation advisor ]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.